Fifteen senators from ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) have defected to the opposition People’s Democratic Party (PDP).

The Senate President Bukola Saraki made the announcement during the plenary on Tuesday.

Saraki is also rumoured to have concluded his defection plans from APC sometime this week, a move that would leave the leadership of the Senate in the hands of the PDP.

The senators that defected include Barnabas Gemade(Benue), Shaaba Lafiaji(Kwara), Rafiu Ibrahim(Kwara), and Usman Nafada(Gombe).

Others were Senators Suleiman Hunkuyi, Ibrahim Danbaba, Ubale Shittu, Isah Misau, Suleiman Nazif, Rafiu Ibrahim, Dino Melaye, Lanre Tejuosho.


The Nigerian senate has announced it will embark on their eight weeks-long recess.

The legislative arm adjourned plenary to Tuesday 25, 2018.

Senate President Bukola Saraki announced the recess at the plenary on Tuesday.

The adjournment is part of the prayers of a motion on the siege on Saraki and his deputy, Ike Ekweremadu.

The senators are currently on a 30 minutes break to enable them to adopt the votes and proceedings of the day.

However, Senators Monsurat Sunmonu(Oyo) and Abdul-Aziz Nyako(Adamawa) have also defected to the African Democratic Congress (ADC).