The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Saturday announced Raheem Olawuyi, the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as the winner of the vacant House of Representatives seat for Ekiti/Irepodun/Isin/Oke-Ero constituency in Kwara state.

Olawuyi emerged in the bye-election held on Saturday.

The Chief Returning Officer for the poll, Prof. Abimbola Adesoji, declared Olawuyi winner after polling 21,236 votes while PDP’s candidate, Saheed Alatise came second with 18,095 votes.


The Labour Party had 150 votes, the Peoples Party of Nigeria (PPN) 76 votes and UPN 42 votes.

Professor Adesoji, from Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, said out of the 40,930 total votes cast, the total number of valid votes was 39,599 while 1,331 votes were rejected.

The result was declared at the Irepodun Local Government Secretariat in Omu-Aran.

Other contestants in the election are Femi Ona-Ara of Labour Party, Ajadi Olayemi of Peoples Party of Nigeria (PPN) as well as Olaniyan Ayorinde of Unity Party of Nigeria (UPN).