Lamido Sanusi, a former Emir of Kano will chair the convocation lecture of the Lagos State University (LASU), Ojo area of the state.

The lecture, which comes up on March 26 is titled; “The Future of Developing Economies in a Digital World,” is part of activities lined up to mark the institution’s 24th convocation ceremony, where a total of 8,959 will be awarded certificates in various degrees and diplomas.

The institution’s 24th convocation ceremony is scheduled to hold between March 20 and 27.


According to the university’s vice-chancellor, Olanrewaju Fagbohun, the lecture will be delivered by the president of African Export-Import Bank (Afreximbank), Benedict Oramah.

The Governor Abdulahi Ganduje led-Kano State Government had on Monday dethroned Sanusi for allegedly “disrespecting constituted authorities” by not taking part in the state’s official activities.

Sanusi’s removal and his banishment to Awe in Nasarawa State has, however, attracted wide condemnation from many Nigerians.

Hours after his removal, the Kaduna State Government announced his appointment into both its investment agency and as the governing council chairman of the state-owned Kaduna State University.

Read Also Osun: Gov. Oyetola signs ‘Operation Amotekun’ Bill into law

The Kaduna State Governor, Nasir El-Rufai, in solidarity with the embattled former emir, visited Sanusi in his Awe, his new abode.

In the same vein, Mr Fagbohun announced the choice of Sanusi as the convocation lecture chairman on Friday, at a pre-convocation briefing. He said the choice predated the removal of the emir. Fagbohun added that the removal has also not reduced the intellectual richness of Mr Sanusi.

Meanwhile, the vice-chancellor revealed that 76 graduands will bag first class degrees while six Nigerians, including Oluremi Tinubu, a senator and the wife of the former Lagos governor, Bola Tinubu; Special Adviser to President Muhammadu Buhari on Sustainable Development Goals (SDG), Adejoke Orelope-Adefulire, and the chairman of Honeywell Flour, Oba Otudeko, will receive honourary doctorate degrees.

Others being honoured include Opeyemi Oke, Aderemi Makanjuola and Segun Agbaje.

Mr Fagbohun, who disclosed that this year’s convocation ceremony will mark his last as the university’s vice-chancellor, said he was happy with the legacy he would be leaving behind.

He said in appreciation of both the former governing council chairmen and former vice-chancellors, some infrastructure and streets on the main campus will be named after them.

The beneficiaries include Akin Kekere-Ekun, Bode Augusto, J. K Randle, Ademola Akesode, Jadesola Akande and Oladapo Obafunwa.