In Imo State, the voters will today, Saturday, throng the polling units to cast their ballots to elect a governor for the state.

Altogether, 18 political candidates are set to slug it out in the election.

From the desks of the pundits, however, the election is believed to be a three-horse race between the incumbent governor, Hope Uzodinma of the All Progressive Congress (APC), Samuel Anyanwu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Athan Achonu of the Labour Party (LP).

And, according to  INEC, there are 2,419,922 registered voters in the state, but only 2,318,919 of them who collected their Permanent Voter Cards (PVCs) are eligible to vote in the election.


The number of registered voters is 6.5 per cent more than the 2,272,293 recorded for the previous 2019 elections in the south-eastern state.

Voting is expected to take place at 4,758 polling units (PU) in 305 registration areas in the state. The exercise will not hold in 38 PUs because there was no registered voter at the units.

The process will commence at 8.30 a.m. and ends at 2:30 p.m., though voters who are already at their PUs before the time lapses will be allowed to vote, according to INEC guidelines for the election.