President Muhammadu Buhari

President Buhari said the process of rejigging his cabinet will be continuous

President Muhammadu Buhari on Tuesday announced the sacking of the Ministers of Power, Saleh Mamman and his Agriculture and Rural Development counterpart, Alhaji Sabo Nanono.

The President also announced the redeployment of two Ministers to take over from them.

The Minister of Environment, Mohammed Mahmoud Abubakar is to take over as the Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development while the Minister of State for Works, Abubakar Aliyu, is to take over as the Minister for Power.


Nanono hails from Kano State while Mamman is from Taraba State.

Mamman’s reign as minister marked little or no improvement in the power sector as the power situation in the country remained without any significant improvement.

Aside from former Finance Minister, Mrs Kemi Adeosun, who resigned over alleged NYSC certificate forgery, the two mentioned ministers are the first set of ministers to be sacked by the president since he assumed office in 2015. His first set of ministers served out his first term.

The sack of the two ministers comes two years and few days after they were inaugurated by the president in 2019 alongside 41 others.

In the brief statement read by his Special Adviser on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina, President Buhari said the process of rejigging his cabinet will be continuous.

NEWS: Abiodun’s intervention propels FG commencement of rehabilitation of Sango-Otta Bad Roads