Kenneth Okonkwo has been suspended by Labour Party.

The Labour Party National Executive Council at its meeting on Wednesday, May 3, 2023, suspended 12 members including the Acting National Publicity Secretary, Comrade Obiora Ifo, and Kenneth Okonkwo, one of the spokespersons for the Presidential Campaign Council.

The 12 members were suspended for alleged anti-party activities and unruly behaviour against Alhaji Bashiru Lamidi Apapa led-Labour Party leadership, which include issuing a statement without the authority of the party.


This online news platform understands that Kenneth Okonkwo suspension by Labour Party alongside other members of the party is contained in a communique issued at the end of its National Executive Council meeting held on Wednesday, May 3, 2023, in Bauchi State, North Central Nigeria.

It partly read, “That the NEC in session also consider the action of twelve (12) of its members namely: Obiora Ifo, Kenneth Okonkwo, Pst. Mrs. Adebayo Ekong, Com. P.G. Igene, Egnr. Adeola Adebanjo, Pst. Funke Awolowo, Sam Emeka Okpala, Barr. Folusho Leigh, Folakemi Collins, Com. Olubunmi Adesanya, Lanre Adenuga and Dr. Olatubosun Oswald for their anti-party activities and unruly behavior against the party leadership which include issuing statement without authority of the party.

“The NEC in session, therefore, suspended them from the party.”

The Labour Party further suspended all the National Working Committee (NWC) members and States Chairmen and Secretaries that attended the NEC meeting convened by Barr Julius Abure on 18th April 2023 in Asaba, Delta state over what it described as contempt of the Federal Capital Territory High Court Order that restrained Abure from parading himself as the national chairman of the party.

“The National Executive Council also examined the anti-party activities of some of its members and resolved as follows:

“Reaffirmed and upheld the decision of the Ogun state executive of Labour Party that earlier expelled Mr. Kehinde Shogunle, Engr. Akinpelu Shogunle, Engr. Lukmon Jagun Abiodun, Mr. Tokunbo Peters, Bukola Shoyooye, Barr. Oluwafemi Ibiayo, Feson Gbadebo, Dayo Folarin, Adeshina Shojobi, Bamjoko Ajekpe, Tuned Taiwo, Olatunde Abolade, Abosede Lamidi, Malik Olaleye, Adesegun Banmodu, Rev. Olufolabi Adebayo, over their failure to pay memberships dues for over six (6) months thus contravening Articles 9 (3) of LP constitution 2019 as amended and thus forfeited their membership.

“That NEC in session suspended all the National Working Committee (NWC) members and States Chairmen and Secretaries over contempt of the FCT High Court Restraining Order who participated the illegal NEC meeting convened by Barr Julius Abure on 18th April 2023 in Asaba Delta state and recommended them for disciplinary actions and also investigate them for fraudulent and anti-party activities over the their conduct of the 15th April, 2023 Gubernatorial primaries in Imo, Bayelsa and Kogi states directed by Barr Julius Abure and Umar Farouk Ibrahim parading themselves as National Chairman and National Secretary to include: Prince Kennedy Ahanotu, Comrade Mrs. Ladi Illiya, Dr. Ayo Olorunfemi, Chief Innocent Okeke Agumba, and Mrs. Dudu Manuga. All the States Chairmen and secretaries that attended that illegal NEC meeting.”

The party, however, constituted a five-man disciplinary Committee that will be chaired by Prince Favour Reuben with Hussaine Saraki as the Secretary. Other members of the committee are Comrade Eze Oko Splendor, Mr Gbenga Daramola and Alh. Lawan Saleh.

Labour Party members suspended alongside Kenneth Okonkwo are;

1. Obiora Ifo

2. Kenneth Okonkwo

3. Pst. Mrs. Adebayo Ekong

4. Com. P.G. Igene

5. Egnr. Adeola Adebanjo

6. Pst. Funke Awolowo

7. Sam Emeka Okpala

8. Barr. Folusho Leigh

9. Folakemi Collins

10. Com. Olubunmi Adesanya

11. Lanre Adenuga

12. Dr. Olatubosun Oswald