Saturday, May 21, 2022
HomeNewsObasanjo farms shut down as Oyo govt. clamps down on levy defaulters

Obasanjo farms shut down as Oyo govt. clamps down on levy defaulters

Former President Olusegun Obasanjo’ farms located in Oyo state has been shut down over levy defaults.

The Oyo state government shut down the Obasanjo Farms (Nig.) Limited alongside 15 other businesses over failure to pay the state’s environmental development levy.

The action was carried out by the Board of Internal Revenue’s inter-ministerial enforcement unit in Oyo State.

Other companies affected were Black Horse, Heinemann Educational Books, Lister Flour Mills, Evans Brother, Butterfield bakery, Chicken Republic, MRS oil and Rahsmed Publicity.

According to Bicci Alli, the Chairman of the board, the closure order the order became necessary after the failure of the companies to comply with the state despite being served reminders on several occasions.

Alli said, “We went to restrain some corporate organisations that failed to pay what is due to the Oyo state government after giving due notices, demand notices and even public notices to that effect and they failed to pay,” he said.

“It was as a result of their failure to pay that we now embarked on the needful.

“So we went to those places to stop them from having access to their premises until they comply with the directive and do the right thing.”

Also on Monday, the state government shutdown 13 banks in Dugbe, Mokola, Idi-Ape, Agodi Gate, Secretariat Road, Challenge, Jericho, Bodija and UI.

The affected banks were Keystone Bank, Diamond Bank, Stanbic IBTC, Skye Bank, First City Monument Bank, First Bank, Ecobank, Unity Bank, UBA, Union Bank and Heritage Bank.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments