Wednesday, August 10, 2022
HomeNationalObasanjo shut out as Buhari names railway stations after some prominent Nigerians

Obasanjo shut out as Buhari names railway stations after some prominent Nigerians

President Muhammadu Buhari has named some railway stations after some prominent Nigerians but conspicuously missing in the list of the honour is ex-President Olusegun Obasanjo.

Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi, on Monday, announced that President Buhari had given approval that stations along the Lagos-Ibadan and the Itakpe-Ajaokuta-Warri corridors should be named in honour of some of the nation’s leaders.

Later national icon, Obafemi Awolowo, Bola Tinubu, a national leader of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo, and late Olushola Saraki, father of former Senate President Bukola are among those that stations were named after.

Below is a full list of those who were honoured:


  • Mobolaji Johnson/Ebute Metta Station
  • Babatunde Fashola/Agege station
  • Bola Ahmed Tinubu/Apapa station
  • Lateef Jakande/Agbado station


  • Yemi Osinbajo/Kajola station
  • Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti/Papalanto station
  • Wole Soyinka/Abeokuta station


  • Segun Osoba/Olodo station
  • Ladoke Akintola/Omio-Adio station
  • Obafemi Awolowo/Ibadan station


  • Adamu Attah/Itakpe station
  • Olushola Saraki/Ajaokuta station


  • Augustus Aikhomu/Itogbo station
  • George Innih/Agenebode station
  • Anthony Eromosele Enahoro/Uromi station
  • Tom Ikimi/Ekehen station
  • Samuel Osaigbovo Ogbemudia/Igbanke station


  • Goodluck Ebele Jonathan/Agbor Station Complex
  • David Ejoor/Abraka station
  • Micheal Ibru/Opara station
  • Alfred Rewane/Ujevwu station
  • Mike Akhigbe/Railway Village, Agbor
  • Alex Ekwueme/Operation Control Centre
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments