HomeNewsOgun APC: Amosun finally loses to Abiodun as INEC releases list of...

Ogun APC: Amosun finally loses to Abiodun as INEC releases list of candidates

And finally, the battle seems to be lost and won as the Ogun State Governor, Senator Ibikunle Amosun lost his bid to have his preferred candidate, Adekunle Akinlade as his successor and the governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress in the state.

Amosun’s efforts to persuade the National Working Committee of the party to replace the name of oil magnate, Dapo Abiodun, with that of his anointed candidate as the party’s flag bearer in the 2019 elections may not have yielded positive results after all.

Billionaire oil magnate, Dapo Abiodun, APC Governorship Candidate

In the list of governorship candidates released by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) yesterday in Abeokuta, Akinlade’s name was conspicuously missing on the records of the electoral umpire.

This might have laid to rest the controversy over who flies the ruling party’s ticket between Akinlade and Abiodun whose candidature had been ratified by the national leadership of APC.

Also missing on the list of the assembly candidates were names of governor Amosun’s backed 26 candidates vying for Ogun State House of Assembly

In the same vein, a serving member of House of Representatives, Oladipupo Adebutu under the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) lost the governorship ticket to Shittu Adeleke of the Senator Buruji Kashamu’s faction of the party in the state.

Also on the list of 39 candidates from various political parties are a two-time governorship candidate, Gboyega Nasiru Isiaka who now flies the ticket of the African Democratic Congress (ADC) and former Speaker of House of Representatives, Dimeji Bankole as flag bearer of the Action Democratic Party (ADP).

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments