Lagos Isolation Centre

almost 12,000 cases are still active in the country with many being managed at accredited isolation centres

The Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC) on Thursday announced that 753 fresh infections of the COVID-19 were confirmed across 13 states in the country and the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja.

The disease centre, in an update, shared on its Facebook page late Thursday night, also informed that five people died of complications of the COVID-19 adding that the country’s fatality toll from the disease now stands at 2,200.


This is as additional 753 new infections were confirmed across 13 states of the federation and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

With the latest figure of confirmed cases, NCDC said Nigeria’s infection toll, since the index case was recorded more than a year ago, has reached 180,661. Of these, a total of 166,560 cases have been discharged after they were successfully managed at accredited healthcare centres nationwide.

However, almost 12,000 cases are still active in the country with many being managed at accredited isolation centres while others are under home care management.


Lagos State for the umpteenth time recorded the lion share of Nigeria’s daily tally on Thursday with 364 cases while Akwa Ibom State in the South-south region followed with 141 cases..

Oyo State, another state in the South-west like Lagos, recorded 74 infections to rank third on the chart while Rivers State in the South-south ranks 4th with 46 cases.

Abia State in the South-east recorded 38 cases while another South-western state – Ogun – registered 24 infections to be ranked 6th on the log.

A North-central state, Kwara, followed with 20 cases while the FCT, also in the North-central, recorded 12 infections to take the 8th position. Ekiti State’s 10 cases qualified the Southwestern state to be ranked 9th on the chart.

Meanwhile, Delta and Edo States in the South-south region closely followed Ekiti with nine and six cases to be ranked 10th and 11th on the log.

Plateau State in the North-Central recorded five cases to take the 12th position while Imo, another South-eastern state like Abia, recorded three cases to take 13th position.

Bayelsa State, also in South-south region like Edo, Delta, Akwa Ibom and Rivers states, recorded a single case to take the final position of 14.

The distribution of the official record has, therefore, indicated that two other geopolitical zones of the country’s six reported no cases on Thursday. The two regions are North-east and North-west.

NEWS: Hushpuppi: Over 30 northern lawyers volunteer to defend Kyari against FBI