Site icon newsheadline247

Ilesa University: Gov Adeleke accuses Oyetola of sabotage, sets up review committee

Osun Gov & APC guber candidate, Gboyega Oyetola/ PDP candidate, Ademola Adeleke

Governor Ademola Adeleke inaugurated an 11-man ad hoc committee on Tuesday in Osogbo to review the establishment of Ilesa University by his predecessor, Gboyega Oyetola.

Oyetola announced upgrading the state’s College of Education, Ilesa, to a full-fledged university on March 31 and signed the bill upgrading it to a university into law on September 27, 2022.

Oyetola left office on November 26.

Adeleke said the committee inaugurated on Tuesday would review and assess funding requirements for the eventual take-off of the university. He said the committee would ensure modalities for phased implementation, such that faculties and courses of study would be matched with the funding requirements of each phase.

The governor said he was worried about the politicisation of the project and that Oyetola avoided due diligence and a comprehensive project report on the university.

He said the committee would also engage all relevant stakeholders, including the host community, the alumni association of the college of education, and trade unions, among others, to harmonise their positions and establish the way forward.

“My first conviction is that Ilesa indeed deserves a university, considering the achievements of Ijesa people at home and abroad. I was, however, worried about the politicisation of the project. The last administration avoided due diligence and comprehensive project report,” said Adeleke.

The Osun governor explained that instead, “it opted for political action on a subject that demands thorough planning, covering financial and academic forecasts and provisions,” stressing that his administration will do the right thing, with the “ultimate goal” of ensuring that the “interest of Ijesaland is adequately protected and satisfied.”

“I consequently urge this committee to take this assignment as a sacred responsibility,” said Adeleke.

He gave the committee six weeks to conclude its findings.

The committee includes Asaolu Taiwo of the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, Osun, Oyesoji Aremu, Lukman Jumoda, David Oladeji, Dayo Akintayo, Mutalib Akanmu, Bamidele Salam, etc.


Exit mobile version