The United States of America has stated that Nigeria and other foreign governments were notified about identity-management and information-sharing criteria in 2019, before the eventual visa ban.

Nigeria is rated one of the worst-performing countries on the performance metrics.

However, the Republic of Chad improved on their metrics and was removed from the list of countries who cannot apply for an immigration visa to the US.

This was contained in the full report of the visa restrictions titled, ‘Proclamation on improving enhanced vetting capabilities and process’ published on


Read Also ‘Prayer Walk’: APC reacts to protests over killings, cautions people in ‘position of influence

“The process began on March 11, 2019, when the United States Government formally notified all foreign governments (except for Iran, Syria, and North Korea) about the refined performance metrics for the identity-management and information-sharing criteria,” it read.

The report stated that; (i) Nigeria does not comply with the established identity-management and information-sharing criteria assessed by the performance metrics.  Nigeria does not adequately share public-safety and terrorism-related information, which is necessary for the protection of the national security and public safety of the United States.  Nigeria also presents a high risk, relative to other countries in the world, of terrorist travel to the United States.  Nigeria is an important strategic partner in the global fight against terrorism, and the United States continues to engage with Nigeria on these and other issues.  The Department of State has provided significant assistance to Nigeria as it modernizes its border management capabilities, and the Government of Nigeria recognizes the importance of improving its information sharing with the United States.  Nevertheless, these investments have not yet resulted in sufficient improvements in Nigeria’s information sharing with the United States for border and immigration screening and vetting.

(ii)  The entry into the United States of nationals of Nigeria as immigrants, except as Special Immigrants whose eligibility is based on having provided assistance to the United States Government, is hereby suspended.

Apart from Nigeria, others on the list are Eritrea, Myanmar, Tanzania, Sudan and Kyrgyzstan.

The US government, on January 31, announced the suspension of the issuance of immigrant visas to certain nations, but the order comes into effect from February 21.