Monday, July 22, 2024
HomePolitics33 APC Reps switch to PDP after 37 announce defection

33 APC Reps switch to PDP after 37 announce defection

In a sweep, 37 members of the Federal House of Representatives on Tuesday announced their defection from the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) to the main opposition party, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and African Democratic Congress (ADC)

After the pronouncement of the intention of the 37 members, 33 of them instantly announced their official defection to the PDP while the four others defected to ADC.

According to the defection letter read by the Speaker of the House, Yakubu Dogara, the lawmakers cited fictionalization and division in the party as their reason for leaving.

The 33 lawmakers who defected from the APC to PDP are from Kano, Sokoto, Kwara and Kogi while the four others who defected from the ruling party to ADC are from Oyo State.

The defection was announced a while ago by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara.

The announcement, however, threw the plenary into commotion with shouts of PDP, APC, Change, Sai Baba, etc, renting the air.

All attempts by the Speaker to restore normalcy to the House has so far proved abortive as members of both parties engage in shouting bouts.

Dogara described the whole commotion as the “beauty of democracy.”

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments