Thursday, August 11, 2022
HomePoliticsEdo: APC National asks Oshiomhole to congratulate reelected Gov Obaseki

Edo: APC National asks Oshiomhole to congratulate reelected Gov Obaseki

The national body of the All Progressives Congress (APC), has called on former National Chairman of the party, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole and other leaders of the party in Edo State to congratulate Governor Godwin Obaseki, the winner of the state’s governorship election held on Saturday.

Mai Mala Buni, Chairman of the APC National Caretaker Committee, expressed this in a statement in Abuja on Monday.

The party, however, saluted its candidate in the election, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu, for his tenacity and leadership prowess.

APC also commended the state leaders, especially Oshiomhole and all the party members in State for demonstrating unwavering support for the party.

It further celebrated its governorship campaign council led by Dr. Abdullahi Umar Ganduje, Governor of Kano State.

The party wants all its leaders and members to celebrate the outcome of the election as free and fair as acknowledge by its leader, President Muhammadu Buhari.

“Let us unite to move our democracy forward. We must put an end to the era when electoral contest become warfare,” the statement added.

“We urge our candidate and all our members to join us in congratulating Mr. Godwin Obaseki and the PDP, being the declared winner of the election.

“Our attention must now shift to Ondo State and ensure that we win the October 10, 2020 election. September 19, 2020 Edo election should present a new watershed.”

The party vowed that it will now work hard towards winning the Ondo State governorship election coming up on October 20.

The party further urged the opposition parties in the country to be committed to free and fair elections.

“We will, therefore, accordingly expect a congratulatory message from all parties just as we similarly guarantee that once we are defeated in a fair contest, we will congratulate the winner.”

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments