President Muhammadu Buhari has been sworn in for his second term as Nigeria’s president.

The President took the oath Wednesday, May 29, 2019, in a ceremony in the presence of local and foreign guests at the Eagles Square, Abuja, the nation’s capital.

Acting Chief Justice of the Federation, Justice Mohammed Tanko, administered the oath of office to the President at 10:42 am, shortly after Vice President Yemi Osinbajo took his oath of office.


The President, based on the Constitutionswore that as President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria he would discharge his duties to the best of his ability, faithfully and in accordance with the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and the law, and always in the interest of the sovereignty, integrity, solidarity, well-being and prosperity of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Read Also Resign now, APC deputy national chairman tells Oshiomhole

He also swore that he would preserve the Fundamental Objectives and Directive Principles of State Policy contained in the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and that he would not allow his personal interest to influence his official conduct or official decisions.

Also in his oath, President Buhari pledged to be fair to all Nigerians and to serve, preserve, protect and defend the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

He swore to be fair to all manner of people.

The Wednesday’s ceremony was witnessed by members of the first families including the wives of the President Buhari and Osinbajo, Aisha and Dolapo respectively were among prominent Nigerians, diplomats, presidents, top government officials and politicians at the ceremony.